Bar-Ilan Professors Win Awards For Best Lecturers in Israel

The winners split a cumulative prize of $100,000,

2019 Krill prizes winners . (photo credit: DUDI SALEM)

The Israeli NGO Wolf Foundation announced their ten winners for their annual Krill prizes on Wednesday for exceptional nontenured lecturers and senior lecturers in exact sciences, life Sciences, medicine, agriculture and engineering.

“Right before the elections to the Knesset, we see again the importance of investment in Israeli academic research and the enormous potential of the researchers in Israel,” CEO of the Wolf Foundation Reut Inon Berman said. “We have so much to be proud of and yet, I hope one day we will see an expression to this subject in the parties’ agenda.”

The lecturers who won the this years award is Amnon Bar-Shir at the Weizmann Institute, Baruch Barzel at Bar-Ilan University, Noga Ron-Zewi at the University of Haifa, Neta Regev-Rudzki at the Weizmann Institute, Ofer Firstenberg at the Weizmann Institute, Shahar Kvatinsky at the Technion Institute of Technology Dafna Shahaf at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Yaron Fuchs at the Technion Institute of Technology, Ori Katz at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Malachi Noked at Bar-Ilan University.

The winners split a cumulative prize of $100,000.

“Krill prize laureates are part of a chosen group of young scientists who will lead the direction of the 21th century in the field of science,” Chairman of the Krill prize committee Prof. Hagai Netzer said. “The prize, in one hand, reflects their great achievements and in the other hand, puts a great responsibility on their shoulders.”

A lecturer is equivalent to the American rank of assistant professor.

This article was originally published by The Jerusalem Post

Leave a Comment

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons